Skip to Content

The deadline to submit nominations for The Floyd S. Chalmers Award in Ontario History is quickly approaching!

Lauren Naus

The deadline to submit nominations for The Floyd S. Chalmers Award in Ontario History is quickly approaching!

The Chalmers Award recognizes the best book in Ontario History published in the previous year, in this case 2014. An independent panel of three historians adjudicates the Award and the winner will be announced at the Annual Meeting of The Champlain Society held in the fall of 2015. Winners receive a cash prize of $1000.00 as well as an Inuit carving. For more information concerning The Chalmers Award, please visit:

Nominators may be individuals (including authors), publishers, non-profit organizations, businesses and corporations. To submit a nomination, please mail a nomination form, along with THREE copies of each work, and a cheque ($25 for each title), made out to the Champlain Society, to the address below:

The Champlain Society

c/o University of Toronto Press

Attn: Lauren Naus

5201 Dufferin Street

Toronto, ON

M3H 5T8

The deadline for submissions is April 30, 2015.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Lauren Naus at