Skip to Content

CCWH Book Prize

The CCWH Book Prize in Women's and Gender History is awarded every two years to the best book published in the field in the previous two years, in either English or French.
Books in Canadian history are eligible for the prize.  Books in other national fields are also eligible for the prize, provided that their authors live and work in Canada.
Anthologies, edited collections and translated works are not eligible for the prize.
There must be at least five books nominated for the prize to be awarded.
The jury for the prize consists of three scholars who have published in the field of women's and/or gender history and who are able to read fluently in both English and French.
The inaugural prize, to be awarded at the Congress of the Canadian Historical Association in May 2014, will go to a book published in 2012 or 2013.  Submissions for the prize must be received by 14 February 2014.  Authors can self-nominate.  Authors or publishers should send a copy of each submission to each of the three jury members, namely:

Karine Hébert
Département des lettres et humanités
Université du Québec à Rimouski
300, allée des Ursulines
Rimouski (Québec) Canada
G5L 3A1

Rhonda Hinther
Associate Professor
Department of History
Brandon University
270 - 18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
R7A 6A9

Nancy Janovicek
Associate Professor
Department of History
The University of Calgary
SS656, 2500 University Dr. N.W.
Calgary, AB, Canada
T2N 1N4